Review scope, form dates, and audit notes
Open out-of-pocket spending comparison
Out-of-pocket spending rules
A percentage-of-household-income threshold is not the same as a fixed dollar requirement or a plan's annual out-of-pocket maximum. Rules below apply only to the named applicant type and medicines. “Not found” means no universal minimum appeared in the reviewed public source; it is not proof that every product or case has no additional requirement. Confirm directly before advising or submitting.
| Program / scope | Verified OOP requirement | Limits and cautions |
|---|---|---|
| BMS Patient Assistance Foundation (Medicare applicants) | Current instructions require Medicare applicants to document out-of-pocket prescription expenses of at least 3% of annual household income during the same calendar year. | Household income is the denominator, but the public wording does not clearly establish whether a spouse's separate prescription spending counts. Do not assume pooling; confirm with BMSPAF. The live form selector generates a medicine-specific application; the old August 2024 PDF URL redirects to the homepage. |
| Amneal PAP (RYTARY, EMVERM, LIORESAL intrathecal, LYVISPAH; Medicare Part D) | At least 3% of annual household income spent out-of-pocket on prescription medicines. Instructions request proof of what the household spent this year. | The forms explicitly request proof of what the household spent, but do not spell out whether a spouse's separate prescription costs qualify; ask Amneal before pooling them. This differs from GSK, whose form expressly excludes family members' expenses. Amneal's live page still links older product forms; EMVERM is dated December 2021. Call to confirm the form version before filing. Do not apply this rule to CREXONT, Brekiya, or other Amneal support routes without product-specific instructions. |
| Daiichi Sankyo (TURALIO and VANFLYTA only; Medicare beneficiaries) | At least 3% of annual household income spent on prescription medicines in the current year; the patient must also not be eligible for or enrolled in Medicare Part D LIS/Extra Help. | This is verified for TURALIO and VANFLYTA, not established as a universal Daiichi rule. Public wording does not specify whose prescription costs are aggregated; confirm spouse/household pooling with AccessCentral4U. |
| GSK PAP (Medicare Part D applicants) | $600 in eligible prescription expenses paid by the individual applicant in the current calendar year. | Do not include monthly premiums or expenses of family members. Spouses cannot pool spending; each applying spouse must independently meet the requirement. Household income is assessed separately. |
| Pfizer PAP (applicable Medicare Part D / Medicare Advantage cases) | No fixed minimum dollar or percentage spend found. For a covered product, patients must enroll in MPPP, provide proof, attest they cannot afford the copay and have not reached the annual OOP maximum, and apply to relevant available alternate funding resources. | The $2,100 amount Pfizer cites for most patients is the 2026 Part D annual maximum, not a PAP minimum-spend requirement. Product and case rules apply. |
| Amgen Safety Net Foundation (certain covered Medicare Part D products) | The patient must demonstrate inability to afford the out-of-pocket cost; no general minimum dollar or percentage threshold was found in the current public materials reviewed. | Applies only to certain Medicare/product circumstances. The brochure also lists other conditions, including LIS/Medicaid and other-support restrictions; check the current product route. |
| Bausch Health PAP | The application requires a pharmacy statement showing the patient's total out-of-pocket responsibility for the prescription. No minimum dollar or percentage floor is stated in the public application/terms reviewed. | Cost documentation is not the same as a minimum-spend threshold. Commercial, Medicare, and Medicaid product coverage rules are case-specific. |
| Bausch + Lomb PAP (select products) | The current eligibility tool asks for monthly medication OOP and a pharmacy/insurer cost statement. No universal minimum dollar or percentage threshold is published in the reviewed public rules. | This is a separate PAP from Bausch Health. Use the product list and current eligibility tool; do not infer that cost documentation alone establishes eligibility. |
| Novartis NPAF (historical rule not confirmed current) | The current 2026 portal does not publish a universal OOP spend threshold. A search-indexed 2024 product grid reported an 8% medication-OOP rule for select commercially insured cases, but the official PDF endpoint returned 404 in this review. | Treat the 8% figure as historical/unverified, not a current eligibility rule. Confirm the exact product's current criteria with NPAF. |
Filter entries
Definitions: "Credit / income screen" separates a form that expressly says its inquiry will not affect a credit score from a form that only authorizes a credit profile or consumer report to estimate income. "Yes" means the current public source expressly says the inquiry will not affect the score. "Conditional" means a credit/consumer-report income screen is described but score impact is not stated. "MDL" means Medicaid denial letter or equivalent Medicaid denial documentation. "Private/commercial" means the PAP or related manufacturer access path may accept commercially insured patients in at least some circumstances; it does not mean copay cards can be used with government insurance. "No-income letters" are shown separately for the patient and prescriber/HCP. "Yes" means the reviewed current FAQ/form expressly describes that source; "No" means the reviewed instructions identify another signer or exclude that source; "Not stated / verify" means the reviewed public materials did not answer this exact question and is not a denial.